

# **Evening of Percussion**

Michael Sammons, music director

Tuesday, November 7, 2023 Libby Gardner Concert Hall Virtual Venue: https://music.utah.edu/libby-live/index.php 7:30 p.m.

**Program** (Please hold applause until the end of the program and turn off all electronic devices that could disrupt the concert.)

### **University of Utah Percussion Ensemble**

Scraping Song (1997)	Jackson Prestley, percussion	David Lang (b. 1957)
Wicca (2010)	Zach Clawson, percussion	Casey Cangelosi (b. 1982)
Topf-Tanz (1985)	Ryan Hushaw, percussion	Eckhard Kopetzki (b. 1963)
Wildlings (2014)	Natalie Baldwin, percussion Alec Godfrey, percussion	Ivan Trevino (b. 1983)
Toccata (1995)	Madi Bowles, vibraphone Brandon Lupus, marimba	Anders Koppel (b. 1947)
Impulse (2021)	Garrett Baker, percussion Venna Burkhardt, percussion Conner Johnson, percussion	Austin Franklin (b. 1995)

Jordan McMillan, percussion

An Economy of Means (2016)

Robert Honstein (b. 1980)

Jackson Prestley, vibraphone

Table Talk (2016)

Alyssa Weinberg (b. 1988)

Joshua Canul, percussion Aidan McMillan, percussion

Lonely City Suite (2006)

Jason Baker (b. 1976)

Tanner Wise, snare drum

Khamsin (2018)

Emmanuel Séjourne (b. 1961)

Zach Clawson, marimba Aidan Smith, marimba

Shawdow Chasers (1994)

Michael Burritt (b. 1962)

Ryan Hushaw, marimba soloist Madi Bowles, percussion Drew Fallon, percussion Dallon Hansen, percussion Brandon Lupus, percussion

**Utah Drumline Showcase** 

#### **Utah Percussion Studio**

Garret Baker Ryan Hushaw Natalie Baldwin Prince Jackson Madilyn Bowles Connor Johnson Venna Burkhardt **Brandon Lupus** Joshua Canul Aidan McMillan Zachary Clawson Iordan McMillan Drew Fallon Jackson Prestley Alec Godfrey Aidan Smith Dallon Hansen Tanner Wise

#### **Utah Drumline**

## Jacob Harker, Teaching Staff Prince Jackson, Graduate Teaching Assistant

Garrett Baker	Myles Flygare	Jordan McMillan
Parker Born	Samir Garcia	Sean Obiacoro
Madilyn Bowles	Dallon Hansen	Greg Olsen
Brenden Bryner	Mathew Harmsen	Ella Prawitt
Joshua Canul	Ryan Hushaw	Colton Simmons
Zachary Clawson	Marissa Johanson	Katie Thrun
Drew Fallon	Connor Johnson	James VanLooy
Nathan Feveryear	Brandon Lupus	Annie Winchester
Morgan Fisher	Aidan McMillan	Tanner Wise

#### **University of Utah Percussion Faculty**

Michael Sammons, D.M.A., Percussion Area Head Mason Aeschbacher, Global Music Ensemble Keith Carrick, Orchestral Percussion Danny Soulier, Timpani Kelly Wallis, Drum-set / Jazz Vibraphone Douglas Wolf, Professor Emeritus

#### **Exclusive Percussion-Only Patron List**

The University of Utah School of Music has moved to electronic announcements for all events. We have also developed an exclusive percussion-only patron list and would be happy to keep you informed of upcoming Percussion Concerts at the U. Please scan QR code and fill out contact form to be added to this list.



For more information on Percussion Studies at the University of Utah, visit: www.music.utah.edu

The University of Utah School of Music cordially invites you to our upcoming events.

For more information please visit: music.utah.edu



The University of Utah School of Music gratefully acknowledges its many donors and supporters.

Become a supporter! music.utah.edu/giving



Follow Us! @uofumusic