



Robert Baldwin, Music Director

2023-2024 Solo Competition Grand Prize Winner Duncan Moore

2023-2024 Roens Student Composition Award Winner Alisha Nielson

Guest Alumna Conductor, Claudia Restrepo

Graduate Conductors Brandon Horrocks, Oswaldo Machado, Lauren Tian-Machado

Thursday, February 29, 2024 Libby Gardner Concert Hall Virtual Venue: https://music.utah.edu/libby-live/index.php 7:30 p.m.

Program

(Please hold applause until the end of each section and turn off all electronic devices that could disrupt the concert.)

Endicott Overture

Leroy Robertson (1896 - 1971)

Lauren Tian-Machado, conductor

Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra

Aleksandra Pakhmutova (b.1929)

Duncan Moore, trumpet Brandon Horrocks, conductor

University Woman (world premiere)

Alisha Nielson (b.1992)

Oswaldo Machado, conductor

Festive Overture, Op.96

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906 - 1975)

Claudia Restrepo, guest alumna conductor



🚹 Keep up to date on all the news from the Phil. Like us on Facebook! Search word: "Utah Philharmonia"

Utah Philharmonia

Violin 1

Sidney Lofthouse+ Alina Baron Lauren Peck Elizabeth Curtis Jewelia Spjute Joshua Lewis Sadie Swain Cynthia Jensen Melodee Valentine Abby Morrell

Violin 2

Kristen Olson* Melanie Hansen Paul Petersen Grant Durtschi WenRui Zhao Autumn Wood Elizabeth Gardner Ethan Gardner Adelle Clarke

Viola

Jack Johnson* Caitlyn Curry Dallas Bitter Lydia Miller Stephanie Coleman Miriam Randall Lillian Ault

Cello

Kaitlin Booth* Lydia Mitchell Nicholas Kelley Stella Wadsworth Milo Nieves Nikei Bowen Eden Wilson Julia Fierro Debbie Hsu Karina Miner Sophia Warnas Yasmine Abuelhija Siang-Qing Chen Getro Joseph **Bass** Brenna Kerby* Megan Hall

Flutes Bryan Kiang* Siyoung Lee Reuben Councill*

Piccolo Reuben Councill

Oboes Karen Hastings* Anna Larson

Clarinets Darrin Thiriot* Christian Manley Zane Jensen

Bassoons Luke Pfeil* Jane Pugmire

Horns

Ethan Young* Jacob Horowitz Brian Larson Justice Nugent

Trumpets Kyle McLean* Briana Gillet Morgan Staker

Trombones

Kyle Larson* Kade Gordon

Bass Trombone Eric Curry

Tuba

Isaac Anderson*

Timpani Prince Jackson*

Percussion Jackson Prestley* Drew Fallon Dallon Hanson

Harp Whitney Jensen* Mari Smith

Graduate Assistants Brandon Horrocks Oswaldo Machado Lauren Tian-Machado

+Concertmaster *Principal/Co-Principal **Assistant Principal The University of Utah School of Music cordially invites you to our upcoming events.

For more information please visit:

music.utah.edu



The University of Utah School of Music gratefully acknowledges its many donors and supporters.

> Become a supporter! music.utah.edu/giving



Follow Us! @uofumusic